Home About us Services Standard Price & Order Contact Us My Account
Acceptable Quality Level (AQL)
ASTM D5430 4-point system
ISO 9000
ISO 14000
OHSAS 18000
AQL Table
Acceptable Quality Level (AQL)  
As MIL-STD-105E is based on random sampling, therefore a few defectives are considered acceptable. The AQL is the maximum defective rate that, for purposes of sampling inspection, can be considered satisfactory as a process average. Different AQLs may be designated for different defects such as critical, major and minor defects. The AQLs should be agreed upon between buyer and supplier before the start of production. The following AQLs are usually applied by qaChina unless otherwise instructed by the client :
  High valued products Low or medium valued products
Critical defectives No critical defect is accepted no critical defect is accepted
Major defectives AQL 1.5 AQL 2.5
AQL 2.5 AQL 2.5 AQL 4.0
Acceptable quality level (AQL) sample inspection methods have been proven to be accurate over a long run. However, the quality level of merchandise at destination is sometimes lower than the per-shipment inspection results. This may be due to transport, handling, change in environment and/or reliability problems. Buyers are therefore advised to take this into consideration when deciding the AQL levels.

Defect Classification
The client defines the AQL and the maximum number of defective goods allowed in the sample size.
Defects detected during visual inspection are usually classified within 3 categories: "Critical", "Major" and "Minor"
Critical: likely to result in unsafe condition or contravene mandatory regulation or reject by import customs.
Major: reduces the usability/function and/or sale of the product or is an obvious appearance defect
Minor: doesn't reduce the usability/function of the product, but is a defect beyond the defined quality standard more or less reduces the sale of the products. An Individual with defect(s) is called defective sample. In the inspection process, one defective sample is counted one for the most serious defect only no matter how many defects found in the said sample.

Clients can specify what points are minor, major or critical in a defect classification checking-list together with the inspection criteria and product specification.
  Copyright© 2008 Asian Channel Group Limited All Rights Reserved.
MadeInAsia | ACGFair | MiaInspection | ACGLogistic | ACGPublications | ACGDeco | ACGLighting